Open Grade Premier Report - 27 July

July 27, 2020

Summary of Premier Open Grade Games 

Premier 1 Women

Only eight goals were scored across the four women’s games which were all played on Cello NHS No 1. Dalefield won the battle of the top two teams beating Harbour City 3-0 and keeping Harbour scoreless for the first time.  Having a slight edge throughout, they led 2-0 into the closing minutes when former Harbour striker Fliss Reidy netted her twelfth goal of the season.

Hutt United moved into second place with a far from straight-forward 2-1 victory over the improving Northern United.  Northern remain fourth after Victoria and Toa battled to their second 0-0 result of the season in the late game.

Kapiti received a boost with their 2-0 win over Karori, repeating their victory over the same opponents at Paraparaumu last month.

Game summaries 

Dalefield 3 (Brigette Mossman, Morgan Percy, Felicity Reidy) Harbour City 0

Hutt United 2 (Lucy Cooper, Ani Roberts) Northern United 1 (Sophie Macadre)

Kapiti 2 (Mandy Yeo, Carla Jones) Karori 0

Toa 0 Victoria 0

Points after eight rounds:

Dalefield 25, Hutt United 23, Harbour City 22, Northern United 10, Victoria 9, Kapiti 8, Toa 5, Karori 3

Premier 1 Men

Goals were also scarce in the men’s competition, just eight in the three games played on McDonald’s Newtown NHS No 2.  Dalefield survived a difficult challenge from Harbour City before winning 2-0 to remain at the top of the table, ahead of Hutt United who had the bye.  Neither team could gain an advantage until well into the final quarter when two strikes from the Wairarapa-based side settled the issue.

Naenae moved back into third with a 3-1 win over Indians in a game that had a lot of movement. Victoria and Northern United scored within a minute of each other in the second quarter, but neither could do so again, despite Northern in particular looking promising at times, and the game finished 1-1.  It was the first draw of the season in this grade.

Game summaries 

Dalefield 2 (Jordan Cohen, Graeme Murrell) Harbour City 0

Naenae 3 (Jainesh Lala, Nick Tweed, Tom van Ryn) Indians 1 (Paresh Dayal)

Victoria 1 (Rio Tuson) Northern United 1 (Kent Horsley) 

Points after eight rounds

Dalefield 27, Hutt United 25*, Naenae 16, Harbour City 15, Victoria 7, Northern United 7, Indians 6

* indicates a second round bye

Premier 2 Women

Kapiti continued their winning way, but were unable to gain a bonus point in their 6-2 win over Harbour City on Cello NHS No 1. Hutt United kicked clear of Victoria 2 with a 2-1 win, while Victoria 3 beat Upper Hutt 1-0 for their second win of the season.

Points after eight rounds

Kapiti 20, Hutt United 18, Victoria 2 10, Upper Hutt 8, Victoria 3 8, Harbour City 5

Premier 2 Men

Hutt United clung to their lead with a 3-1 win over fellow high-fliers Upper Hutt on McDonald’s Newtown NHS No 2, whilst Tawa’s squeaky 1-0 defeat of lowly Victoria moved them into second place on their own.

The game between Northern United and Harbour City was even all the way before finishing 2-2, leaving Harbour comfortably in fourth place.

Points after eight rounds

Hutt United 21, Tawa 19, Upper Hutt 16, Harbour City 14, Northern United 10, Naenae 9, Victoria 6

Premier 3 Women

Competition leaders Kapiti 4 and Northern United remain locked together after Kapiti 4 beat Upper Hutt 5-2 at Maidstone Park on Saturday and Northern United had the bye.

Harbour City upset Hutt United 3-2 at Fraser Park, while Kapiti 3 could not capitalise fully on their home advantage, drawing 0-0 with Victoria at Paraparaumu.

Points after eight rounds

Kapiti 4 20, Northern United 20, Hutt United 14, Upper Hutt 13, Harbour City 12, Kapiti 3 10, Victoria 4.

Premier 3 Men

Kapiti joined Indians at the top of the table after beating them 5-1 on the turf at Mazengarb Reserve. On Fraser Park Victoria 3 beat Hutt United 3-1 to move ahead of Northern United, who were beaten 4-2 by Harbour City.  In the fourth game Karori had their second win beating Victoria 4 4-2.

Points after eight rounds

Indians 16, Kapiti 16, Victoria 3 14, Northern United 11, Harbour City 11, Karori 10, Hutt United 7, Victoria 4.

Report by Todd Foster